Chapter Events
Healthy Living
Education News
EOF Events
EOF Awards

The Epsilon Omega Foundation Education Leadership Award recognizes individuals within four categories, Four-Year Colleges/Universities, Two-Year Community Colleges, K-12 Educators, and Community Stewardship.  Honorees are selected for their distinguished achievements in the field of education, their mentorship and impact of others, and their evidence of creating an exceptional educational environment.  
The Epsilon Omega Foundation Inc. 
Education Leadership Award
Dr. Freeman A. Hrabowski, III has distinguished himself as an outstanding education while president for the past nineteen years at The University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC). During that time he has successfully branded his institution as the “Honors University.”   He is known world-wide as an exceptional college president, lecturer, author, humanitarian, and change agent.  His selfless acts as an educational leader and great reformer have been recognized by many.  In 2008 Dr. Hrabowski was named one of America’s Best Leaders and in 2009 Time Magazine recognized him as one of the Top Ten College presidents.  United States President Barack Obama himself had Dr. Hrabowski on the “short list” for Secretary of Education.  His honorary degrees from Harvard, Duke University, the University of Illinois, Gallaudet University, the Medical University of South Carolina, Binghamton University, Goucher College, 
as well as his voluminous other honors and awards are too many to name here.  
Dr. Walter Bumphus, has been an outstanding educator for over thirty-nine years.  He has distinguished himself over the decades as a senior administrator, community college president, system chancellor, an executive in private industry, and now President/CEO of the American Association of Community Colleges.  Dr. Bumphus served as the Chair of the Board of Directors of the American Association of Community Colleges that represents more than 1200 community colleges and ten million students, and was a member of the Board of Directors of the American Council on Education. He received the 1998 National Initiative for Leadership and Institutional Effectiveness Lifetime Achievement Award. He has also been recognized with the National Institute for State and Organizational Development (NISOD) 1996 International Leadership Award. His leadership resulted in Brookhaven College receiving the National Initiative for Leadership and Institutional Effectiveness 1995 Quality Organizational Leadership Award. Dr. Bumphus is the recipient of the 1995 Contribution to Knowledge Award presented by the National Council on Student Development and the 1991 Distinguished Service Award presented by the National Council of Black American Affairs.
Dr. Michael Miller has continuously distinguished himself as an accomplished lecturer, author, humanitarian, and change agent.  His crusade to fight illiteracy is profound and evident throughout his book “A promise to Persevere: “It’s Not Where You Start, It’s Where You Finish!”, and through your community stewardship; the creation of The Michael Miller Beating the Odds Foundation.  In a matter of five incredible years, he successfully obtained his GED, A.A. degree, and B.A. degree from Morehouse College and set a national record as the first person ever to do so. Through the benevolence of Oprah Winfrey, he was recognized for his efforts and received funding to continue his education as a "Beating the Odds Scholar." Later he earned his Masters Degree and Ph.D. from The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore Maryland in Education.  His own personal battle to fight illiteracy is inspirational. 
Many have come to know Ms. Felicia Irick throughout Baltimore City, Maryland, and now the nation, for the phenomenal work taking place at Westport Academy thanks to her involvement in Education Nation, NBC News' initiative to engage the country in a solutions-focused conversation about the state of education in America.  Last September 2010, NBC turned Rockefeller plaza into a “learning plaza.” Education Nation provided an open platform for discussions about the successes of schools such as Baltimore's Westport Academy.  Just a few years ago, Westport Academy was on the state's watch list, but now it has made a dramatic turnaround and student test scores are up and still climbing.  Because of her leadership and understanding that teachers have to be given the freedom and support to enhance their pedagogy, students at Westport can now move beyond their current level of learning thanks to Ms. Irick's vision.
The 2011 Epsilon Omega Foundation Education Learship Award honorees are truly beacons of light for all those who want to follow in their footsteps. Their tireless work has provided proof that if people want to bring about social change they can.  Their selection as a Epsilon Omega Foundation Education Leadership honoree is a note taken by the Foundation Board of their earnest efforts for the betterment of others.  We all sincerely hope that we can also rise to their level, taking some inspiration from their excellent work.  Awards will be given at the annual Epsilon Omega Foundation Pink & Green Scholarship Gala on June 18, 2011, Martin's West, Baltimore Maryland.

The Honorees...
Dr. Freeman A. Hrabowski, III 
President of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) 
Dr. Walter Bumphus
President of The American Association for Community Colleges (AACC) 
Ms. Felicia Irick
Principal of Westport Academy - Baltimore, Maryland
Dr. Michael Miller 
Founder of the Michael Miller Beating The Odds Foundation 
Epsilon Omega Foundation
The Ivy Family Support Center   
3515 Dolfield Ave  
P.O. Box 67003   (Use only for Mailing)
Baltimore, Maryland  21215   **   (410) 367-6750
This page was last updated: January 1, 2017
Click here to connect to EAF Website